Shoremen Basketball Shooting for Playoffs

Senior Captain Dylan Bernstein seen here in a game played last year against Muhlenberg. Photo courtesy of Laura Reiter.

By Victoria Ripple
Elm Staff Writer

Returning from last year’s successful season with a playoff appearance, this year’s 2010 Shoremen basketball team is on the hunt for the championship.

With 14 returning players and former 2009 Coach of the Year Rob Nugent, the team has high hopes for this season.

The team ended last year’s season on a high note with a record of 13-10 overall and 11-7 in the Centennial Conference. This year it is accompanied by four freshmen and one new junior, along with new assistant coach Robert Hughes.

The returners are as follows: Dylan Bernstein, Kevin Breslin, Ryan Kearney, Mark DeBoy, Wes Bill, Doug Holcombe, Tony Hawkins, Max Finch, Chris Soper, Charlie McShane, Sal Schittino, Adam Naymick, Chris Olsen, and Drew MacMahon.

The new additions are freshmen Donovan Womack, Michael Giroux, BJ Poss, Kevin Cunningham and junior James Hetzel.

Along with head coach Nugent and assistant Hughes are assistant coach Bob Bennett and student assistant Dominick Iaquinto. Senior Bernstein and junior Breslin are the chosen captains this season.
Last Friday, the Shoremen played a closed door scrimmage against Goucher College. All 18 players saw time, while sophomore Bill sat out for an injury. The starters for the game were Breslin, Bernstein, Naymick, Holcombe, and McShane.

Although they did not keep an official score, the Shoremen won in the 60 minutes they played. Breslin and McShane were the leading scorers for Washington College.
Breslin had 10 points six rebounds and three assists while McShane had nine points and four rebounds. The Shoremen shot 34 percent from the field against the Gophers.

The Shoremen will start their official 2010 season with a nonconference game at Welsey on Nov 15.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *