Swimming Dominates the Diplomats

By Sophie Gabriec
Sports Editor

Women’s Swimming

The Washington College women’s swim team won over Franklin and Marshall in their home meet last Saturday on Oct. 28. This win marks 10 years since WC’s last victory over the Diplomats in 2007.

With a final score of 134-128, WC had some standout performances. Senior Jenni Clune earned four first place wins over her Diplomat opponents. At the end of the meet, Clune was given the title of Goose Nation TV Shorewomen Swimmer of the Meet for her successes. Clune competed in and won the 100 breaststroke, the 200-meter breaststroke, the 100-meter individual medley, and swam the last leg in the 200-meter freestyle relay.

With the final 200-meter freestyle relay time of 1:43.09, Junior Anna Schmittle, Senior Katie Gorman, and Junior Emma Silber joined Clune in the victory.

Junior Julia Portmann also earned some points for the Shorewomen with her wins in the 1000-meter freestyle, the 200-meter freestyle, and the 500-meter freestyle. Her times were 11:04.00, 2:01.37, and 5:24.08 respectively.

Sophomore Alex Searles earned a second place win in the 200-meter breaststroke with a time of 2:37.17. Another second place came from sophomore Lindsay Wiecki in the 100-meter butterfly with a time of 1:02.22.

The Shorewomen’s next meet will be on Nov. 4 vs. Gettysburg at 1 p.m. in the Casey Swim Center.


Men’s Swimming

The Shoremen of WC swimming also defeated the Franklin and Marshall Diplomats on Oct. 28. WC won vs. the Diplomats with  a final score of 135-127.

Freshman Brett Edwards had an outstanding performance for the Shoremen with two individual first place wins. He came in first in the 200-meter breaststroke with a time of 2:14.23 followed by a win in the 100-meter breaststroke with a time of 1:00.60. Edwards was also named the Goose Nation TV Shoremen Swimmer of the Meet.

Sophomore Aidan Sullivan had a standout performance, winning two individual events. Sullivan won the 200-meter freestyle and the 100-meter individual swim medley with times of 1:48.16 and 55.57 respectively.

Earning the second place decisive meet-win for the Shoremen was the freestyle relay team of seniors Kevin Mackenzie and Cody Weiler, sophomore Dave Rovansek, and freshman Leo Johnson. They clinched the win with a time of 1:28.53 for the Shoremen.

The meet versus Franklin and Marshall marked the first combined men’s and women’s team wins over the Diplomats since 1995.

Both teams now have a record of 1-1 in the Centennial Conference.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *